Comparison guide · Updated · 10 min read

Fireflies vs Otter vs Fathom (and SayBriefly)

Three great recorders, one honest table. Plus the fourth option for people whose clients come back every week.

The short answer

Fireflies, Otter and Fathom all record your call, write a summary and let you search across meetings. They differ in who they are built for.

  • Fathom: best free recorder, strong for sales teams on HubSpot or Salesforce.
  • Otter: best for full, searchable transcripts and phone apps.
  • Fireflies: best for integrations and many languages.
  • SayBriefly: best for client work. No bot on Mac and Windows, calls grouped into threads, "Since last call" on every note, and each call next to the client's project, Gmail and brief.

People searching "Fireflies vs Otter" or "Fathom vs Fireflies" usually want one thing: which AI note taker should I pay for? The honest answer is that the three are closer than their marketing suggests. They all join your call, transcribe it, summarize it and answer questions across your past meetings.

SayBriefly is our product, and it takes a different road. It records from your computer with no bot, then keeps each call inside the client's project with their email, the agreed brief and your tasks. We say below where each of the other three is the better pick.

A recap tells you what happened. Memory tells you what it means.

The three things that actually differ

Bot or no bot

Fireflies, Otter and Fathom send a bot into the call by default. Each has a way around it. SayBriefly never sends one.

What happens after

A summary and action items, then: a CRM, a shared transcript, a Slack post, or your own to-do list tied to the project.

Memory across calls

All four can search or chat across meetings. Only one opens each note with what changed since the last call with that client.

1. Bot or no bot

Fireflies, Otter and Fathom each put a named guest in your Zoom, Meet or Teams call. On a sales demo, nobody minds. On a first call with a new client, or a tense one about budget, a bot changes the room. Each vendor now offers a way around it: the Fireflies Chrome extension, the Otter desktop app, and Fathom's bot-free mode, which its pricing page marks as a beta for Mac. SayBriefly has no bot at all, on Mac and Windows.

2. What happens after the call

All four write a summary with action items. The difference is where it goes next. Fathom and Fireflies push notes and tasks into your CRM and tools like Asana. Otter keeps a shared, searchable transcript for the team. SayBriefly puts action items on your own to-do list, each linked to the project and the call it came from.

3. Memory across calls

It is not true that these tools forget. Ask Fathom, Otter's AI chat and Fireflies' AskFred all answer questions across your meetings. What they do not do is write the new note with the old ones in mind. SayBriefly groups calls with the same client into one thread, and opens each new note with what got done, what is still open, what was asked again and what changed.

Since last call · Harbor website
DoneHomepage copy approved by Lena
Still openSend the Phase 2 scope · you
Asked againMobile menu layout, third time
ChangedLaunch moved from 7 Oct to 14 Oct

Example of the layout. Real notes only show what was said on the calls.

Fireflies vs Otter vs Fathom vs SayBriefly: feature matrix

Feature
Bot joins the call by defaultSayBriefly: NoFireflies: YesOtter: YesFathom: Yes
Record without a botSayBriefly: Yes, Mac and WindowsFireflies: Chrome extensionOtter: Desktop appFathom: Beta, Mac
Desktop appsSayBriefly: Mac, WindowsFireflies: YesOtter: YesFathom: Yes
Phone appsSayBriefly: NoFireflies: iOS, AndroidOtter: iOS, AndroidFathom: Not stated
Search or chat across all meetingsSayBriefly: Yes, ScribbbleFireflies: Yes, AskFredOtter: Yes, Otter AI chatFathom: Yes, Ask Fathom
Recurring calls grouped into threadsSayBriefly: YesFireflies: NoOtter: NoFathom: No
Note opens with what changed since last callSayBriefly: YesFireflies: NoOtter: NoFathom: No
Calls linked to client project, Gmail and briefSayBriefly: YesFireflies: NoOtter: NoFathom: No
CRM sync (HubSpot, Salesforce)SayBriefly: NoFireflies: YesOtter: Not statedFathom: Yes
Tasks, calendar, dictation in the same appSayBriefly: YesFireflies: NoOtter: NoFathom: No
Paid entry priceSayBriefly: See the appFireflies: Pro from $10 a seat a month, yearlyOtter: Pro $8.33 a user a month yearly, $16.99 monthlyFathom: Premium $16 a month yearly, $20 monthly
Free planSayBriefly: See the appFireflies: Unlimited transcription, 400 minutes storageOtter: 300 minutes a month, 30 minutes a meetingFathom: Unlimited recordings and transcripts

Checked on each vendor's own website, September 2026. Prices and betas change often, so check before you buy.

Fireflies: best for integrations

The connector

Desktop, iOS, Android, web · bot by default, or a Chrome extension · Pro from $10 per seat a month, billed yearly

Fireflies sends a bot, transcribes, and then pushes notes into a long list of tools. AskFred answers questions across meetings. Its pricing page says English is the main language, with Spanish, French, Portuguese, Italian and more than 100 others in beta. Reviewers report the bot rejoining calls and some AI features using credits.

Pick Fireflies if your notes need to land in many other tools.

Leaving it? See our Fireflies alternatives.

Otter: best for transcripts

The transcript specialist

Desktop, iOS, Android, web · bot by default, or its desktop app · 300 free minutes a month

Otter has been writing down meetings for years and it shows: clean transcripts, AI chat across meetings, and apps everywhere. Its pricing page lists a 30 minute cap per meeting on the free plan, 90 minutes on Pro and 4 hours on Business, and six languages. Reviewers complain about the bot auto-joining once the calendar is connected.

Pick Otter if you want every word, searchable, on every device.

Leaving it? See our Otter alternatives.

Fathom: best free recorder

The free favorite

Mac, Windows, web · bot, or bot-free beta on Mac · unlimited free recordings · Premium $16 a month billed yearly

Fathom is the best-reviewed of the three. Its free plan records and transcribes without a limit, the recaps are strong, and Ask Fathom searches across calls. Paid plans sync to HubSpot and Salesforce, with field-level CRM sync on Business. Reviewers note that fuller AI features are capped on the free plan.

Pick Fathom if you want a great recorder at no cost, or you sell for a living.

Leaving it? See our Fathom alternatives.

SayBriefly: best for client work across many calls

The memory

Mac and Windows · no bot · calls, Gmail, tasks, calendar, dictation and one agent, Scribbble

SayBriefly records from your computer, so no bot joins. It works with Zoom, Google Meet, Teams and browser calls, and the note is ready about a minute after the call. Recurring calls become one thread, each note opens with Since last call, and every call sits in the client's project with their Gmail threads and the brief.

Ask Scribbble "what has Lena asked for across our calls and emails, and is it in the brief?" and it answers from all of it. When a request is not in the brief, you see it before you say yes.

Worth knowing

  • No iPhone or Android app
  • Email works with Gmail for now
  • No CRM sync; it is built for delivering projects, not a sales pipeline

Pick SayBriefly if the same clients come back call after call.

More on the SayBriefly AI notetaker and on using it as a Zoom AI notetaker.

A bot at least announces itself. A bot-free recorder does not, so the telling is up to you. This is not theory. In August 2025, Brewer v. Otter.ai was filed in California, claiming Otter recorded people without consent and trained its AI on those recordings. Granola, a bot-free note taker, also faces a recording-consent class action. Both were unresolved in 2026 according to public reporting.

Whatever tool you pick from this page, say at the start of the call that you take notes, and put a line in your contract. Some places require everyone's consent before a call is recorded.

Who should pick which

Your situationPickWhy
Want a strong free recorderFathomUnlimited free recordings and transcripts
Sales team on HubSpot or SalesforceFathom or FirefliesCRM sync built in
Notes must reach many toolsFirefliesLongest integration list
Need every word, on your phone tooOtterTranscripts plus iOS and Android apps
Calls in many languagesFireflies100+ languages in beta
Same clients, week after weekSayBrieflyThreads and Since last call
No bot allowed, team on WindowsSayBrieflyBot-free on Mac and Windows
Scope creep keeps biting youSayBrieflyCalls checked against the brief and email

How we compared them

We checked each vendor's own pricing and product pages in September 2026 and read public reviews. We only state what a vendor says about itself; anything from reviews is marked as what reviewers report. SayBriefly is our product, and we have said where the others are the better choice.

Questions people ask

Which is better, Fireflies or Otter?

Fireflies if you want many integrations and CRM sync. Otter if you want a clean, searchable transcript and phone apps. Both send a bot by default. Neither links calls to a client's project, email and brief.

Fathom vs Fireflies: which one should I use?

Fathom has the stronger free plan, with unlimited recordings and transcripts. Fireflies has more integrations and works in more languages. Both are built around sales calls and CRM sync.

What is the best AI note taker in 2026?

It depends on the job. Fathom for a free recorder, Otter for transcripts, Fireflies for integrations, and SayBriefly for client work where the same people come back call after call.

Which AI note taker works without a bot?

SayBriefly records from your computer on Mac and Windows with no bot. Otter's desktop app and the Fireflies Chrome extension can record without the bot too, and Fathom has a bot-free beta on Mac.

Do Fireflies, Otter and Fathom remember past meetings?

Yes, all three let you search or chat across your meetings. What they do not do is open each new note with what got done, what is still open and what changed since the last call with that client. SayBriefly does.

How much do Otter and Fathom cost?

Otter Pro is $8.33 a user a month billed yearly, or $16.99 monthly. Fathom Premium is $16 a month billed yearly, or $20 monthly. Both have free plans. Checked on their pricing pages in September 2026.

Is Otter safe to use on client calls?

Otter was named in Brewer v. Otter.ai, a 2025 class action over recording people without consent. Whatever tool you use, tell everyone on the call that you take notes.

Does SayBriefly sync to a CRM?

No. It is built for delivering client projects, so action items go to its own to-do list, linked to the project and the call they came from. If your team lives in HubSpot or Salesforce, Fathom or Fireflies fit better.

Does SayBriefly work with Zoom, Google Meet and Teams?

Yes. It records from your computer, so it works with Zoom, Google Meet, Teams and browser calls, and the note is ready about a minute after the call ends.

It's 4pm on a Friday. The brief is locked, the client is happy, and Scribbble already sent the meeting recap. You close the laptop.


That's the point.

Download for Mac
Studios and clients like you love us.
“SayBriefly allows me to give my full awareness in meetings, enabling radical presence, relevant question-asking, and finding flow that was otherwise elusive when note-taking.”
Emma Joel

Emma Joel, Creative Director

Itsmy Studio

“The AI summaries are incredibly accurate. Our entire team adopted SayBriefly within weeks, and our post-meeting clarity has never been better.”
Marcus Chen

Marcus Chen, Product Manager

Pixel Lab

“What used to take hours of note-taking and follow-up emails now happens automatically. SayBriefly is the assistant I didn't know I needed.”
Sarah Williams

Sarah Williams, Head of Design

Studio Bloom

They recap the call.
We remember the client.

No bot. Calls, email and
the brief in one place.

SayBriefly

2026 ©SayBriefly. All rights reserved.
Designed by @HustleJar